Top commuter essentials

As a seasoned commuter (well I have been commuting for all four seasons now) I have come up with a list of some essential equipment that all commuters should have for their daily slog to work. Many commuters already have some if not all of these items, and it is not a definitive list, just useful things in my opinion. I’ll start today with my number one.

cup-flaskA travel flask

This is great not only for the cold weather but also for the warmer weather as well. If you’re addicted to coffee then this flask will keep it at a nice temperature for your entire commute to work. Fill it up again just before you leave work and you also have a nice hot beverage for the way home. I put soup in mine on particularly cold days and it really does warm the heart as well as the body knowing you’ve got a lovely cup of soup to keep you company at the train station. You can also carry a couple of cup-a-soup sachets in your bag and fill your flask up with hot water when you leave work. That way if the train is delayed for any reason you won’t be too upset as you can just add the sachet to your flask and you have an instant meal.

These travel flasks are only about £5 in supermarkets but personally I would consider spending more and getting something a bit better that will maintain a temperature for longer. I would say in terms of price this is the best value-for-money item that I take to work with me every day. The Money Saving Expert forums also have great ways to save money on the commute.

Leave a Reply

